Kidney Transplant Fellowship Training Program


The Kidney Transplant Fellowship Program at Labbafinejad Medical Center is certified by the Middle East Society of Organ Transplantation (MESOT) .


With more than 3000 kidney transplants since its inception, The Kidney Transplantation Center at Labbafinejad Medical Center is one of the busiest in the country. We perform approximately 200 kidney transplants annually, nearly 80% of which are living donor transplants. The Division of Transplantation is part of the Department of Urology .A minimum of twelve months is spent on the kidney transplant inpatient service and outpatient clinic. Three Kidney Transplant Fellowship positions will be available per year. Physicians who have completed their training in Urology at an accredited program and are Iranian board certified are accepted through a national matching program. The Kidney Transplant Fellowship participates in the matching program run by urology department. Foreign applicants should be communicating with Dr simforoosh (simforoosh

All transplant patients are admitted to the Transplant Service as necessary for preoperative evaluation, perioperative care, and postoperative complications and care. Fellows round daily as a team with staff, visiting all transplant patients.

More than 1000 laparoscopic donor nephrectomy were done at our center from 2000.

Also 80% of kidney donations at our country are from living, cadaveric kidney transplantation especially at the recent years is popularized and it frequency is increased. 

up side down kidney transplant 018.jpg               up side down kidney transplant 021.jpg



Faculty Members:

Nasser simforoosh MD, Chairman of department.

Abbas Basiri MD

Mohsen Nafar MD.

Fatemeh Pourrezagholi MD.

Fariba Samadian MD.

Ahmad Firoozan MD.


Clinical Fellows Trained:

Reza Mahdavi Zafarghandi MD                         Mashhad Imam Reza hospital

Mahmoud Kabiri MD                                      Isfahan Azahra hospital

Akbar Akhavan Tafti MD                                 Tehran Imam Khpmeini hospital

Aboulfazl Bohlooli MD                                       Tabriz Imam Khpmeini hospital

Hossein Nourbala MD                                      Tehran Baghyatallah hospital

Mohammad Yazdani MD                                   Isfahan Khorshid hospital

Mohammadreza Razzaghi MD                           Tehran Shohada hospital

Behrouz Ghazimogaddam MD                           Gorgan 5 Azar hospital

Mohammadreza Fattahi MD                             Tehran

Ali Taghizadeh Afshari MD                               Orumia Imam Khomeini hospital

Mohammd Heidari MD                                    Khorramabad Shohadai Ashayer hospital

Faramaz Fazeli MD                                           Zahedan Khatamolanbia hospital

Hamidreza Gholamrezaii MD                           Tehran Shaheed Chamran hospital

Abazar Akbarzadeh Pasha MD                         Babol Shaheed Beheshti hospital

Serajadin Vahidi MD                                       Yazd

Yadollah Sezavar MD                                       Tabriz Amiralmomenin hospital

Hossein Mahmoudi MD                                  Kashan Shaheed Beheshti hospital

Mahmoud Tavakkoli MD                                  Bojnord  

Mohammad Reza Ebadzadeh                            Kerman

Mohammad kazem Moslemi                             Ghom

Behzad Feizzadeh Karigh                                  Mashhad

Mohammad Reza Gharaati                                Isfahan

Shahram Gouran                                               Tehran

Mahmoud Shakibi                                             Mashad

Samad Zare                                                          Yazd

Mohammad Samzadeh                                      Tehran

Babak Javanmard                                                Tehran